WHO ARE YA? Rich Johnson, The Football Attic

 

Image

1) Who are ya?

Rich Johnson, 39, All round good guy 😉

2) Who do you support?

Coventry City…my home team, who else?

3) What was your first game?

Last game of the 95/96 season – a bore draw with Leeds

4) What do you do for a job?

My official title is IT Systems Development Manager…make of that what you will 😉

5) Have you played/worked for any football clubs?

In short, no…In long…nooooooooo…

6) How did you get into blogging?

I’d had a few abortive attempts a few years ago, but it never seemed to work out. At the same time, I was a fan of Chris’ old blog, Some People Are On The Pitch and also the excellent Sound of Football podcast him, Terry Duffelen & Graham Sibley did. I got in touch with them a few times and struck up a good friendship with Chris. We were discussing football nostalgia one day and both of us liked the idea of creating a blog around it. I was somewhat hesitant to start one of my own given my past failures, so when Chris suggested co-blogging, I was more than happy to lean on his vast experience. Thus, the Football Attic was born.

7) What do you get out of it?

Other than an outlet to be creative and share nostalgic memories, I’d say the interaction with people gives me the most pleasure. I do most of the twitter work so I get plenty of chance to converse with a wide range of people, some of whom have become good friends. Our League of Blogs feature also brought a lot of the blogging community together and is a huge amount of fun.

8) What advice would you give someone wanting to follow in your stud marks/footsteps?

Hang off the coat-tails of someone who’s already established 😉  Seriously, follow what you’re passionate about and just do it because you enjoy it.

9) If you could do it all again what would you change?

Not a huge amount really. I thoroughly enjoy writing for the Attic. I’d maybe increase the number  of hours in the day as I struggle to find time to write anything. Thankfully, Chris more than makes up for my lack of prolificness.

10) Who’s your footballing hero?

Maradona – despite the Hand of God goal, he is the best footballer of all time. It would have been great to see what he’d have been like if he could have stayed clean, but then he wouldn’t have been Maradona.

Follow The Football Attic on Twitter

View the website – The Football Attic

