WHO ARE YA? Callum Jones, Press Officer for FC Halifax Town

Image

Media Officer at FC Halifax Town

1) Who are ya?

Callum Jones, 23

2) Who do you support?

Manchester United

3) What was your first game?

United v Wimbledon, January 1997.

4) What do you do for a job?

I work as a Press Officer for the Skrill Conference club FC Halifax Town.

5) Have you played/worked for any football clubs?

I had a fledging career for both Vauxhall Motors and Chester City FC in my youth. Now, I’ve worked for Chesterfield, as well as FCHT.

6) How did you get into it?

I’ve always loved football, and all sport, so when it came to picking a degree, a Sports Journalist seemed ideal. Working within football clubs is a fantastic career and I’d recommend it to anyone. Working a matchday does not feel like real work!

7) What do you get out of it?

You get to watch football as a job! No, in all seriousness, you get to meet a whole range of people, and no two days are the same. The chance to work in a variety of roles, from radio commentary, to writing a match report, is thrilling too.

8) What advice would you give someone wanting to follow in your stud marks/footsteps?

Be committed. You don’t always have to be the most talented, but if you show desire or commitment, it will get you places. And always enjoy yourself, no matter what.

9) If you could do it all again what would you change?

I’ve not got too far down the road yet, don’t there’s not a great deal I would change so far. But making less mistakes and better decisions always come to mind.

10) Who’s your footballing hero?

David Beckham. I even had a few terrible haircuts like him too in days gone by.

Cheers Callum.

