CAMPO RETRO SHIRTS – a review of the Centenario Jersey

Image

My friends at Campo Retro were kind enough to send me one of their top notch retro shirts to review.

I got the top of the Team Colours range shirt, the long-sleeved Centenario, in navy and old white.

Image

The parcel arrived at work today, and Campo really make a lot of effort to ensure that the whole package (no pun intended) is bob on.

The outer postage sack contained the folded and bagged shirt plus a badge, carefully wrapped in Campo printed paper.

Image

Image

Image

Now, I have to admit that I’m not a big fan of replica shirts, especially the shiny, polyester ones that retail for between £45 and £65! I don’t do man-made fibres, but I do do cotton; and the Campo shirt is crafted from lots and lots of the stuff – lovely 100 per cent soft handle luxury 200grm cotton fibre. It feels great, and the construction looks bulletproof, with the football shirt resembling the cotton top I had to wear for football and rugby in games lessons at school that lasted me five years!

The Centenario is modelled on the very earliest football shirts, which were themselves modelled on the contemporary rugby and other sporting tops of the time, as can be seen on display at the National Football Museum.

Image

An old football jersey, on display at The National Football Museum

Campo describe the shirt as:

…a fusion of modern attention to detail and classic tailored style seen in the early 50’s. It features a smart covered button placket with a contrast mini stripe under its tailored collar, together with smart flush finish cuffs.

Lots of individual processes have gone into making the shirt, with an amazing level of attention to detail. The yoke at the back of the neck is reinforced, as is the armpit area, which has a diamond-shaped gusset to aid with movement and prevent the stitches from bursting.

Image

The covered buttoned placket and collar are also things of beauty, and you can really see the thought and effort that have gone into producing the garment.

Image

Campo have designed the entire Stadio range to be customised to your favourite team with a neat little Campo branded pin badge housing on the hem. I got a black and white badge included with my shirt, but I could also use any of the pin badges with butterfly fixings from my extensive hipster and classic badge collection if I so desire, safe in the knowledge that the badge won’t damage my shirt by putting pin holes in it!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Pin housing & embroidered arm logo

Another nice touch is the embroidered Campo logo on the right sleeve, in self-coloured stitching so as not to be too shouty.

Like the last England shirts to be made by Umbro, this is a smart casual shirt that is as much at home in a bar on a Friday or Saturday night as it is on the terraces on a matchday. As I wanted to go for a smart casual look, I didn’t specify the optional extra number personalisation, but Campo can stitch a high quality cotton canvas number to the back of the shirt if you like.

Image

I am looking forward to living with the Centenario in my wardrobe, and seeing how it ages after wearing and washing it. I expect a good level of colour fastness based on the quality I’ve seen so far, as long as I follow the washing instructions of course, and for it to last me a long, long time. I’ll update this post with comments on the fit and how it washes once I’ve lived with it for a bit.

You can buy the Centenario jersey here, and view the rest of the extensive Campo Retro range.

Follow Campo on Twitter – @CampoRetro

Lastly, here’s the mighty Ivan Campo – just because I can!

Image

