WHO ARE YA? Anthony Cooper, Campo Sports Ltd

campo-retro

Campo Retro, quality retro football shirts

1) Who are ya?

My name is Anthony, I’m 25 years old and live in Manchester

2) Who do you support?

Being from Manchester it was natural to support Man City of course! But I lie, I was a Man City fan because of my Dad and went to school during United’s most successful years being surrounded by United fans whilst we sat in the depths of League 1.

3) What was your first game?

My first game was Everton at home. It was the first game of the 90-91 season and we won 1-0. I honestly cannot remember any of it as I was only two. I have it from memory as my Dad told me he hid me under his jacket to get me through the turnstiles for free.

4) What do you do for a job?

I work at http://www.camporetro.com/ doing partnerships and social media work. The kind of job I’ve been striving to get over the last few years through side projects like the Football Blogging Awards, which is how Campo discovered me. Not only did them offer me a job, they agreed to sponsor the Football Blogging Awards in a multi-year deal!

5) Have you played/worked for any football clubs?

No, unfortunately. I once applied for a job at Man City and was turned down. Also, I never really plied my trade playing football, as quite frankly, I am shocking with a ball at my feet! I can see my future working with plenty of football clubs from a commercial point of view at Campo but at the minute my number is zero.

6) How did you get into it?

I started by writing a football blog and one thing led to another.

7) What do you get out of it?

Being able to work in football and work in something you enjoy. You spend about half your life working so why spend half your life being miserable!

8) What advice would you give someone wanting to follow in your stud marks/footsteps?

I would say to others if you get an idea in your head and think it could work, why not try it. I told a couple of friends and my brother about the Blogging Awards before starting it. They laughed and told me it was stupid. Last year we reached 10m people and took 30k votes. Next year we expect it to at least double [It will, ‘cos of all the votes for No Standing!!! – GM]. Although it’s not easy! Expect a lot of hard work and all of it unpaid. I’m yet to see a penny of hundreds of hours work put in for the Football Blogging Awards but it’s all been worth it to get to where I am now career-wise.

9) If you could do it all again what would you change?

Nothing. Why live with regret? What I will do is look at it from a future perspective and think how can I improve it.

10) Who’s your footballing hero?

I have plenty of idols and of course I’m going to choose a City legend. I would have to say either Shaun Goater or Shaun Wright-Phillips. Both were knocked-back throughout their early careers, being told they would not make the cut, and I suppose the message is is that you should never give up. At City they prospered and are now held in the hearts of thousands of City fans I’m sure.

Many thanks, Anthony.

Follow Campo on Twitter

View the shirt range

Campo also support one of the fine football publications that I write for, The Football Pink

