Behind the scenes at Spotland Stadium, Rochdale AFC

My brother and I were lucky and privileged enough to be given an impromptu stadium tour around Rochdale AFC’s Spotland ground on Saturday. We were en route to Manchester to visit the National Football Museum and decided to stop off at Spotland and Bury’s Gigg Lane on the way, to take pictures and have a look round.

After we’d taken some shots of the ground from the outside, we went into the Club Shop so I could buy a badge. I’m trying to buy a badge from every ground I visit these days. If only I’d done that for every ground I’ve visited since I was a kid! I’d have around 40!

We got talking to Stuart (Ashworth – the Retail & Projects Manager) about why we were there and what we were planning for the rest of the day, and he very kindly offered to take us into the ground.

My brother and I thought that he was going to let us get pitchside so we could take some pictures then show us out, but he took us all round the ground then behind the scenes, giving us a commentary as we went.

These are the pictures:

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Big thanks again to everyone who took time out to speak to us whilst we were there, and especially to Stuart for giving us such an intimate look behind the scenes of a football club on the morning of a match.

Rochdale AFC play in League Two, and are a real family club. We hope to visit there again and take in a match.

The Rochdale AFC website – www.rochdaleafc.co.uk

Follow them on Twitter – @officiallydale

