WHO ARE YA? Tom Fletcher, Bantams Banter

Image

Tom Fletcher (left) of Bantams Banter fame

1) Who are ya?

Tom Fletcher, 28, Bradford (born and raised).

2) Who do you support?

Bradford City

3) What was your first game?

Can’t actually remember I was so young, all I do remember is hot coffee being spilt over my head whilst being stood on.

4) What do you do for a job?

For a living, I sell bunion cream but for the purpose of this interview I more importantly produce an award winning independent podcast called ‘Bantams Banter’.

It centres around Bradford City and offers a ‘from the terraces’ view of the game as we record the show. I’ve been doing it for 5 years now with a good mate of mine called Dom. We’ve gone from recording in my back bedroom to being the first ever podcast recorded live at Wembley.

5) Have you played/worked for any football clubs?

I had trials with Bradford City as a goalkeeper but got pipped to the post by a Jon Worsnop who went on to play for the club in some respect! He now plays Sunday league like me, but as a centre forward (scores loads apparently).

6) How did you get into it?

What, podcasting football matches? Well me and Dom both had Radio experience and suddenly lost our jobs with BBC Radio Leeds. We wanted to carry on in broadcasting but whilst we were waiting decided to produce our own podcast called ‘The Tom and Dom Show’. From this spurned Bantams Banter and the rest they say…

7) What do you get out of it?

I love working as part of a popular podcast. It combines my two passions, football and media. It’s good to use your creative side as Albert Einstein once said:

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.”

8) What advice would you give someone wanting to follow in your stud marks/footsteps?

Just do it. Get a microphone and a recording device and free your creative juices. Talk about something you love or hate… or something that makes you excited, happy, sad or angry. Record it (edit it) and release it into the world. Today’s technology means anyone can do this from anywhere, together with modern online social values it also means someone will listen somewhere.

9) If you could do it all again what would you change?

I’d of done it younger.

10) Who’s your footballing hero?

Jorg Albertz – the best left foot I’ve seen on a human.

Cheers Tom, all the best. Fancy asking Dom if he wants to do this too?

Listen to the Podcast

Follow Bantams Banter on Twitter

Like them on Facebook

