WHO ARE YA? David Hill, Head of Marketing for Kitbag Limited

Image

David Hill, Head of Marketing for Kitbag Limited

1) Who are ya?

David Hill, 49

2) Who do you support?

Bamber Bridge FC. and RCD Mallorca

3) What was your first game?

Bamber Bridge FC v Curzon Ashton

RCD Mallorca v Lleida

4) What do you do for a job?

Head of Marketing for Kitbag Limited.

We run the commercial websites for Man.Utd, Man City, Everton, Barcelona, Celtic, Real Madrid, Borrusia Dortmund, Olympic Marseille, Formula 1, the NBA (National Basket Association), and many others.

5) Have you played/worked for any football clubs?

I worked with Wigan Athletic FC producing commercial product ranges for their club stores, and the occasional match day activity. My playing days were strictly amateur but played most weeks up into my late 30’s.

6) How did you get into it?

I was a buying director for JJB Sports plc, owned by Dave Whelan, chairman of the Latics, so it aligned to the role I had at that time.

7) What do you get out of it?

A good insight into football fan purchase motivations and some good Saturday afternoon football.

8) What advice would you give someone wanting to follow in your stud marks/footsteps?

I have been employed in the sports industry for over 30 years, and it still continues to evolve. There are opportunities throughout the industry, where you can capitalise on transferable skill sets to move from one discipline to another.

My advice – get in first, then get on. It’s a great industry.

9) If you could do it all again what would you change?

Nothing! I’ve been to more sporting occasions than I can remember, Champions League games, 2 World Cups, Euro Champs, 2 Olympics and played at venues such as Old Trafford, Goodison Park, Anfield and best of all, Wembley (Twice).

10) Who’s your footballing hero?

Toughie! I’ve met Pele on two occasions, and played a match with Gordon Banks at Wembley, both great players, heroes, ambassadors and I was struck by their humility, however, as a former goalie, I have to go with Peter Schmeichel – I don’t think there has been a keeper since where, in a one on one, anyone dominates as much as he did.

Many thanks, David.

