WHO ARE YA? Jim Mann, Founder of a technology company, Spontly

Image

Jim Mann, Founder of a technology company, Spontly

1) Who are ya?

Jim Mann, aged 37.

2) Who do you support?

Liverpool / Hearts (I was born in Edinburgh but grew up in the Northwest).

3) What was your first game?

Everton vs Telford United in the FA Cup Everton won 3-1 I remember Peter Reid and Neville Southall were playing.

4) What do you do for a job?

I am the Founder of a technology company called Spontly.

Image

We are a fan engagement platform for live events. In real terms that means we build apps, webpages and tools so Football / Rugby / Cricket clubs can allow their fans to interact through their mobile phones and see replays etc. at matches.

5) Have you played/worked for any football clubs?

I was a junior Claret and played for Burnley until I was about 11 when I took up running instead – I now race ultramarathons and mountain races instead.

6) How did you get into it?

I have been working in start-ups and tech for a while. As smart phones started to get more popular we saw an opportunity and started developing this idea.

7) What do you get out of it?

Working with new technology especially with crowds is great fun. I found it really satisfying that something that we dreamed up a couple of years ago now has 1000’s of people using it.

8) What advice would you give someone wanting to follow in your stud marks/footsteps?

Just have a go – there are so many opportunities out there – if you have an idea just try it… what’s the worst that can happen?

9) If you could do it all again what would you change?

I would take out some of the mistakes where we tried things that didn’t work so we could get to where we are now faster!

10) Who’s your footballing hero?

Ian Rush – he scored so many goals when he was at Liverpool.

Many thanks, Jim.

Find out more about Spontly

