Referees Selected for the World Cup

Diego Maradonuts World Cup Blog

They are the best in the world at what they do, although thousands of football followers sitting in armchairs or gathered in pubs would loudly argue that they could do a better job than the man in the middle.

As a referee myself there are several comments from fans that really get to me. My personal favourite (or in this context, least favourite) is the old notion that – “If I was this bad at my job, I’d be sacked”.

Around the world you would do well to find a country that is happy with its standard of refereeing. In England many short fused fans will regularly claim that referees in the Premier League are the worst in the world. Howard Webb hasn’t had the perfect season by any means, although he has done well enough to earn a spot in Brazil.

Australian fans believe that the progress of the…

View original post 362 more words

