WHO ARE YA? Callum Baxter, Business Development Manager at the National Football Museum

Image

Callum Baxter, Business Development Manager at the National Football Museum

1) Who are ya?

Callum Baxter, 27, born in Ormskirk (Lancashire), lives in Manchester, has a scouse accent.

2) Who do you support?

Everton

3) What was your first game?

I remember my first game being Aston Villa away, I think it was the 96/97 season and it was one of Dave Watson few games as caretaker manager. I can’t remember much of the game but I do remember a young, teenage Richard Dunne coming as a substitute to make his debut.

4) What do you do for a job?

I’m the Business Development Manager at the National Football Museum. With the museum being a charity and relying on donations, it’s my job to make the museum money in other areas. This can take on the form of sponsorship and working with brands, companies who would like to hire the museum as a venue for an event or loaning items from our collection. The 1966 World Cup Final ball or Jules Rimet trophy are two of the most prized items in our collection of over 145,000 pieces.

5) Have you played/worked for any football clubs?

I worked for Burnley Football Club in their media department on work experience during my university years.

6) How did you get into it?

I’d probably say my degree was the defining factor in getting my job. I studied Football and Society and Journalism at the University of Central Lancashire.

7) What do you get out of it?

I love being able to play my part in helping to preserve the heritage of the beautiful game. We exist to explain why England is the home of football, the birthplace of the world’s most popular sport and I’d like to think that I’m helping the museums long-term mission and responsibility to protect football’s heritage and culture for future generations as well as current audiences.

8) What advice would you give someone wanting to follow in your stud marks/footsteps?

The only advice I could give here is pick the right degree, I had an idea of what I wanted to do when I was at university and I dreamt of working for the National Football Museum, and luckily, my dream has come true. So, have a think of what you want to do because, the degree you pick at university matters! I would definitely advise to get some good work experience as well, the time I served at Burnley Football Club, albeit only for a month, it was unbelievable experience.

9) If you could do it all again what would you change?

I would go back and I would have tried to get more experience working in different departments at different clubs. I managed to interview Jon Harley prior to an FA Cup tie with Arsenal while at Burnley, which ended being on the front page of the programme and the centre piece – Fire emails off and make contact with anyone asking for work experience!

10) Who’s your footballing hero?

Growing up I was absolutely obsessed with Duncan Ferguson. He may have let us down on a few occasions (the occasional red card) but he was a hero to me and he loved a goal against Manchester United…

Many thanks, Callum.

The National Football Museum website – www.nationalfootballmuseum.com

