The Red Rose County (Part 2) – The Lion of Vienna

Pipedreams from the Shire

Having woken from a good night’s sleep, as promised by Lenny, I set off for a full day of Rwanda presentations. During the morning I was at Astley St Stephen, on the outskirts of Manchester, a C of E school involved in a global partnership with Nyabitare, one of my VSO schools.  

The afternoon was spent at the Valley Community School, Bolton, a state of the art building in a deprived area of town, sitting in the shadow of Warburtons factory where they’ve been baking ‘bread wi’ nowt taken out’ since 1876.

The two contrasting schools are linked in a local community cohesion project. The children at both schools were a delight; alert, interested and responsive, and their teachers were welcoming and appreciative.

With a satisfying day of work completed I didn’t have far to travel for the second football league ground on my

View original post 1,159 more words

