WHO ARE YA? Chris Oakley, The Football Attic

Image

1) Who are ya?

I’m Chris Oakley, 42, born in Barking, Essex but have been living in Ashburton, New Zealand since September 2012.

2) Who do you support?

West Ham United and England.

3) What was your first game?

The first game I ever went to see was West Ham v Orient on December 26th, 1980. West Ham won 3-1, if memory serves…

4) What do you do for a job?

I was a Web Editor until very recently, however I’ve been made redundant so if anyone’s looking for someone to edit their website, get in touch! (GM – sorry to here that, Chris)

5) Have you played/worked for any football clubs?

No, never, sadly…

6) How did you get into it?

N/A

7) What do you get out of it?

N/A

8) What advice would you give someone wanting to follow in your stud marks/footsteps?

It depends what footsteps you’re referring to! If you mean the steps I’ve taken to be a blogger and podcaster of some eight years (GM – yes), I’d say pick a topic you genuinely have a lot of passion for, don’t be afraid to choose one that’s slight or obscure as you could end up being seen as an expert on the subject, and don’t put yourself under any unnecessary pressures or constraints. Enjoy what you do and enjoy it for what it is!

9) If you could do it all again what would you change?

Again, if you mean blogging and podcasting, I don’t think I’d change anything. I’ve worked with some amazing people, enjoyed myself immensely and that’s how I hope things will continue.

10) Who’s your footballing hero?

Trevor Brooking, of West Ham and England.

He was a universally admired person, on and off the pitch. The grace and skill he had as a player was amazing and I used to love watching him. Not only that, but he was born in Barking like me, so he’s our local hero too!

Many thanks, Chris. All the best with finding a new job.

You should already be a fan of the terrific Football Attic, but if you’ve never seen it before you can read it here – thefootballattic.blogspot.co.uk

2 thoughts on “WHO ARE YA? Chris Oakley, The Football Attic

  1. […] WHO ARE YA? Chris Oakley, The Football Attic (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] WHO ARE YA? Chris Oakley, The Football Attic (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

Comments are closed.