WHO ARE YA? Craig Armstrong

Image

Craig Armstrong

1) Who are ya?

My Name is Craig Armstrong. I currently work for Nottingham Forest FC in their academy coaching U15/16s. I’m 38 years old.

2) Who do you support?

I support Sunderland but I’ve lived in Nottingham since I was 16 so I follow Forest also.

3) What was your first game?

My first game was actually Huddersfield v Darlington I think, when I was maybe 7 or 8.

4) What do you do for a job?

I currently coach in the academy at Nottingham Forest and also run an educational football-based programme at a local football club (Basford United FC). I teach. BTEC level 2/3 in Sport and coach the teams who compete in a college and youth alliance leagues.

5) Have you played/worked for any football clubs?

Other than working at Forest, I also played for them from the age of 12 till I was nearly 24. I’ve played for Huddersfield, Sheffield Wednesday, Grimsby, Watford, Gillingham, Bradford, Bristol Rovers and many more.

6) How did you get into it?

I started playing in my school team at the age of 11 and got asked to play for my district where I was then scouted and asked to go on trial at a few clubs. Escalated from then on.

7) What do you get out of it?

I got the opportunity to play in front of big crowds at the best stadiums in the country and now I’m coaching at the club where I began my career and giving something back – my experiences, and my knowledge.

8) What advice would you give someone wanting to follow in your stud marks/footsteps?

My advice is that if you’re good enough the money will come to you and when you play football, don’t leave anything on the football pitch. You can only take care of yourself, so, when you come back into the dressing room, if you can look in the mirror and know you’ve done all you can, good or bad game then that’s good.

9) If you could do it all again what would you change?

I wouldn’t change anything in my own life, as things happen for a reason but I wish I’d had the amount of coaching, advice and help that young kids get now. If I had got that at their age I know I would have been a far better player.

10) Who’s your footballing hero?

My footballing hero? That’s a tough one. I remember always watching my dad. He never turned pro but I used to go with him every weekend and watch games.

Many thanks, Craig.

6 thoughts on “WHO ARE YA? Craig Armstrong

  1. […] WHO ARE YA? Craig Armstrong (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] WHO ARE YA? Craig Armstrong (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] WHO ARE YA? Craig Armstrong (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] WHO ARE YA? Craig Armstrong (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

Comments are closed.