WHO ARE YA? Alex Stewart, Put Niels in Goal

Niels_Bohr

Alex Stewart, Put Niels in Goal

I’m Alex Stewart, 31, currently living in North London.

2) Who do you support?

Southampton is my first team. I retain strong affection for Alresford FC, Akademisk Boldklub, Godoy Cruz, and Livorno.

3) What was your first game?

Reading vs Manchester City in, I think, 2001. After that, I was a season ticket holder at Southampton for 3 years until it became too expensive.

4) What do you do for a job?

Amateur librarian and professional diletante.

5) Have you played/worked for any football clubs?.

I played in goal for my university college team and captained the 3rd XI, though I played for 1st and 2nd XI too.

6) How did you get into it?

I had always played in goal from school onwards, though not very well. I actually played club rugby and hockey rather than football; football was always more for pleasure than as a serious sporting pursuit. Several broken ribs, nose, and fingers later, I stopped. Two of my fingers are still buggered.

As far as blogging goes, I was inspired by the Blizzard and, antithetically, by a lot of the crap I was reading. This informs some of what I write as well, the desire to do things better and push myself to write the sort of stuff I would want to read.

7) What do you get out of it?

Pleasure you can’t measure. I enjoy connecting with other football people, either on-line, for coffee to chat football, or when I visit clubs. It’s something away from day-to-day business. And I get a genuine thrill from a good response to a piece.

8) What advice would you give someone wanting to follow in your stud marks/footsteps?

Do what interests you. Do not pursue hits and click-throughs; if your writing is good, people will read it, and things written from the heart always sound better. Oh, and proof-read properly. A lot of otherwise good articles can be annoying because of errors.

9) If you could do it all again what would you change?

I would like to have taken football more seriously as a sport to play and continued playing for longer than I did. Maybe done some more stretching too. As for blogging, I wouldn’t change anything.

10) Who’s your footballing hero?

Niels Bohr, obviously*.

*From the peerless blog, Put Niels In Goal, “Akademisk Boldklub vs Brønsøj – a visit, a match, and a conversation

“This blog is named after a Danish physicist, Nobel laureate, and erstwhile goalkeeper Niels Bohr. Bohr won the Nobel Prize for physics in 1922 for pioneering work on atomic structure, positing that atoms orbiting a nucleus had discrete energetic properties and could jump between orbits.”

4 thoughts on “WHO ARE YA? Alex Stewart, Put Niels in Goal

  1. […] WHO ARE YA? Alex Stewart, Put Niels in Goal (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] WHO ARE YA? Alex Stewart, Put Niels in Goal (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] WHO ARE YA? Alex Stewart, Put Niels in Goal (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] WHO ARE YA? Alex Stewart, Put Niels in Goal (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

Comments are closed.