Half-decent Xmas Songs – Alternative/Footy-related/Just Good

Image

shonen knife – merry christmas

Merry, Merry Christmas
Happy, Happy Christmas
Merry, Merry Christmas
And Happy New Year

Merry, Merry Christmas
Happy, Happy Christmas
Merry, Merry Christmas
And Happy New Year

I’m waiting for Santa Claus
He’s riding on a bison sleigh
I’m waiting for a Christmas gift
I wanna get a space ship

Merry, Merry Christmas
Happy, Happy Christmas
Merry, Merry Christmas
And Happy New Year

Merry, Merry Christmas
Happy, Happy Christmas
Merry, Merry Christmas
And Happy New Year

I wanna go to Pluto
I wanna go with you
Oh, I bring space food
They are marshmallow and ice cream

I’m waiting for Santa Claus
He’ll come on a bison sleigh
I’m waiting for a Christmas gift
I wanna get a space ship

Merry, Merry Christmas
Happy, Happy Christmas
Merry, Merry Christmas
And Happy New Year

Merry, Merry Christmas
Happy, Happy Christmas
Merry, Merry Christmas
And Happy New Year

It’s Christmas, merry, happy
(My little drummer boy)
Merry, happy
(I wanna go with you)
Merry, happy
(Riding on my spaceship)
Merry, happy

Songwriters
YAMANO, NAOKO

Published by
Lyrics © EMI Music Publishing

A Change at Christmas (Say It Isn’t So) by The Flaming Lips (2003):

The lead singer Wayne Coyne of the Oklahoma psychedelic rockers questions the fleeting nature of the promise which the Christmas season embraces. In doing so, he’s created one of the most romantic Christmas songs ever recorded.

hmhbduklapraguelrHalf Man Half Biscuit – All I Want For Christmas Is A Dukla Prague Away Kit
(1985):
Not about Xmas but it is about Dukla Prague, Scalextric and Subbuteo.

My favourite Xmas-related (although not really Xmas-related) song:

Spent the summer holed up in a room
Looking pretty, won’t you be here soon?
Euro Disney could not work at all
A little bird had told me in the fall

Getting groovy after Halloween
Mid-November, got back on the scene
I’m so glad that I just got my pay
I was born on Christmas day

In December, my heart’s full of spring
I could phone you, tell you everything
Like the crazy evenings on the yacht
Tim and Sarah went and tied the knot

Did you know they pulled the town hall down?
I don’t think you’ll recognize this town
Never could have been a tennis wife
Get into the acting life

Getting groovy after Halloween
Mid-November, got back on the scene
I’m so glad that I just got my pay
I was born on Christmas day

I was born on Christmas day
I was born on Christmas day

Jingle Bell Rock/Captain Santa Claus (and His Reindeer Space Patrol), Bobby Helms (1957):

Single_Bobby_Helms-Jingle_Bell_Rock_cover

Bobby Helms – Jingle Bell Rock

The b-side is ace.

Christmas+Album+Cover1Little Saint Nick, The Beach Boys (1963):

“Little Saint Nick” reappeared on The Beach Boys’ Christmas Album in 1964, in stereo and minus the overdubbed sleigh bells from the original single mix. Another version of the song, utilizing the melody from the All Summer Long song “Drive-In”, was recorded during the album sessions but remained unreleased until a 1991 CD reissue.

One thought on “Half-decent Xmas Songs – Alternative/Footy-related/Just Good

  1. […] Half-decent Xmas Songs – Alternative/Footy-related/Just Good (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

Comments are closed.