WHO ARE YA? Aaron W Evans

Image

Prestatyn Town FC

1) Who are ya?

I am Aaron W Evans, I am 26 years of age. I have Cerebral Palsy affecting the left side of my body. I also have a chronic bowel condition that affects me day-to-day.

2) Who do you support?

I am an Everton supporter, and really enjoy local football too. My local team is Prestatyn Town FC.

3) What was your first game?

I seem to recall David Eyres and Lee Trundle in a Rhyl shirt, and for Everton sometime in 94/95.

4) What do you do for a job?

I am a 5×60 officer in Prestatyn High school, I provide sporting opportunities during lunch time and after school.

5) Have you played/worked for any football clubs?

I played for Llandudno, Mochdre disability teams and Everton Disability Team.

I played for Wales at Tri Nation level and also played for Cerebral Palsy team GB at Youth Level.

I have coached in Italy voluntarily, with Viability, who work with Torino FC, and also coach at Prestatyn Town FC from the Welsh Premier League.

6) How did you get into it?

My dad was instrumental in contacting Everton in seeing if they had any disabled teams. It all escalated from a simple phone call.

7) What do you get out of it?

Confidence, friends, an understanding of the game… A lad with cerebral palsy, by rights, should not be doing what I do. I feel blessed.

8) What advice would you give someone wanting to follow in your stud marks/footsteps?

You can achieve anything.

Go out and volunteer, get used to the football language, the football scenery, earn people’s respect.

9) If you could do it all again what would you change?

I wish I had been able to go to Latvia with Prestatyn Town in the Europa League Qualifiers, but I owe the manager, the staff and players a lot. I will always be in their debt.

10) Who’s your footballing hero?

Everton’s Dave Watson for his stature in the game, and ex-Welsh International, Lady Kelly Davies*. We are close family friends, but I used to sit and watch her train and play, deep in admiration. I looked at her work rate as a benchmark for myself.

Image

Kelly Davies, Managing Director of Vi-Ability

Many thanks Aaron. All the best.

*Kelly Davies is the Managing Director of Vi-Ability and is an ex-international football player. She has 36 caps for Wales and has also played for Arsenal and Liverpool Ladies. She is the youngest woman to obtain an MBA in the football industries. During her studies, the idea came to her for a social business that could tackle the issues of commercially unsustainable football clubs and youth disengagement in education.

2 thoughts on “WHO ARE YA? Aaron W Evans

  1. […] WHO ARE YA? Aaron W Evans (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] WHO ARE YA? Aaron W Evans (nostanding13.wordpress.com) […]

Comments are closed.