Shoot cover: Andy Ritchie (6 November 1982)

The Goldstone Wrap

shootcover11

‘Reject Ritchie has a score to settle’ from 1980/81:

Brighton’s record £500,000 signing, Andy Ritchie, has a few words of warning for his former colleagues, Manchester United, as they prepare themselves for Saturday’s (Nov 22) visit to the Goldstone Ground.

“‘I know they’ve been doing well and we’ve been struggling, but I feel this match could go either way especially if we can put our game together and attack. Forget our position in the League, because we’ve been playing far better than the tables suggest.

“Obviously I’ll be trying to prove they were wrong to let me go,” Ritchie continued, “and I’ll be going all out, although I realise that I’ll have to pace myself so that I won’t run out of steam.”

Ritchie describes his move to the South Coast as the biggest decision of his life and still admits to having a few regrets about leaving Old Trafford:

View original post 501 more words

